How can I compete?

Each participating country sends 1-2 teams of four contestants each. The methods of choosing these contestants and composing the teams differ from country to country; in most cases a country's contestants are chosen from the winners of their national Linguistics Olympiad. Check below to find out how contestants are chosen in your country.

What do I need to do to prepare?

No prior knowledge is necessary to compete at the IOL: every problem is self-contained.

The best preparation possible is to attempt as many past problems as you can. Start with the samples if you're new to IOL problems and when you're ready take a stab at our past problems. If you've done all those and can't get enough, the national olympiads below also keep archives of past problems.

What if my country doesn't participate?

If you are an organization interesting in setting up a national contest and sending a team: contact us via this form.

If you are a student interested in competing: We might know teachers in your country who are willing to help you assemble a team. Ask a teacher or parent to contact us.

Note that the IOL is a contest for secondary-school students; current university students are ineligible to compete.

What is the accrediation status of my country?

Below is the complete list of currently accredited countries and regions as of January 2020.

Armenia, Australia, Bangladesh, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada (Anglophone), Canada (Francophone), China, Colombia, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Isle of Man, Japan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Malaysia, Nepal, Netherlands, Poland, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Turkey, UK, Ukraine, USA.

How is my country's team chosen?

Team Australia is chosen through OzCLO, the Australian Computational and Linguistics Olympiad.
Team Bangladesh is chosen through the National Linguistics Olympiad in Bangladesh.
Team Belarus is chosen through the Минская олимпиада по лингвистике.
Team Brazil is chosen through the Olimpíada Brasileira de Linguística.
Team Bulgaria is chosen through the Bulgarian National Olympiad in Linguistics.
The anglophone team from Canada is chosen through NACLO, the North American Computational Linguistics Olympiad. The francophone team from Canada is chosen through the Olympiade Linguistique Canadienne.
Team China is chosen through the 全国语言学奧林匹克竞赛.
Team Colombia is chosen through the Olimpiada Colombiana de Lingüística.
Team Czechia is chosen through the Česká lingvistická olympiáda.
Team Denmark is chosen through the Sproliga, Den danske olympiade for lingvistik.
Team Estonia is chosen through the Lingvistikaolümpiaad.
Team Finland is chosen through Suomen kielitieteen olympialaiset.
Team Germany is chosen through the Nationaler Deutscher Auswahlwettbewerb.
Hong Kong
Team Hong Kong is chosen through the Hong Kong Linguistics Olympiad.
Team Hungary is chosen through the Magyar Nyelvészeti Diákolimpia.
Team India is chosen through the Panini Linguistics Olympiad.
Team Irealand is chosen through AILO, the All Ireland Linguistics Olympiad.
Isle of Man
Information about the Isle of Man team can be found here.
Team Japan is chosen through the 国際言語学オリンピック―日本.
Team Latvia is chosen through Latvijas Lingvistikas Olimpiāde.
Team Malaysia is chosen through Malaysian Computational Linguistics Olympiad.
Team Netherlands is chosen through Taalkunde Olympiade.
Team Poland is chosen through the Olimpiada Lingwistyki Matematycznej.
Team Russia is chosen through Московская традиционная олимпиада по лингвистике.
Team Slovenia is selected based on the results of nationwide competitions in logic, which also include problems in linguistics, organised by Association for Technical Culture of Slovenia (Zveza za tehnično kulturo Slovenije).
Team Spain is chosen through the Competición Lingüística de España (OLE).
Republic of Korea
Team Korea is chosen through the 한국언어학올림피아드.
The Swedish team is chosen through the Lingolympiad.
Team Taiwan is chosen through the 語言學奧林匹亞競賽臺灣隊.
Team Turkey is chosen through the Ulusal Linguistik Olimpiyatı.
Team UK is chosen through UKLO, the UK Linguistics Olympiad.
Team Ukraine is chosen through Київська відкрита олімпіада з лінгвістики.
Team USA is chosen through NACLO, the North American Computational Linguistics Olympiad.